Tropical Turmeric Smoothie

IMG_2932-3.JPG

Lately, I have been sort of addicted to turmeric smoothies. I drink them every single day!

I had no idea how delicious these would taste, but I did know that turmeric is helpful with inflammation and has seemingly countless other health benefits. So when my friend, Lynn, gifted me some of her beautiful fresh turmeric along with a smoothie recipe, I was happy to give it a try.

The timing was perfect, as I am currently recovering from an intercostal muscle strain which requires rest, daily icing of the muscles, and oral anti-inflammatories. I am also currently three days into a two-week juice and smoothie fast, and it’s great to be able to add some variety into my otherwise monotonous repertoire of green juices and smoothies.

I took one of these smoothies to a friend yesterday, and she immediately asked for the recipe. Zander loves them, too! I usually double the recipe to make enough for both of us. This morning, I poured some leftover smoothie into a popsicle mold for Zander, so he’ll have turmeric popsicles for an afternoon snack. He is going to be thrilled!

Anyhow, without further ado, here is the recipe:

TROPICAL TURMERIC SMOOTHIE
*recipe by Ryan Carmody at Heavenly Smoothie Headquarters–lots of other useful info there–check it out!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond or coconut milk (I use homemade almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1 fresh or frozen medium banana (I haven’t been including any banana–I actually just noticed that it was in the recipe! My smoothies have been delicious without banana.)
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil (I sometimes include this, sometimes not. I like it both ways.)
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric (I use about an inch of fresh, peeled turmeric root–see photo below–it looks like a baby carrot once it’s been peeled!)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger (I use about 1/2 inch of fresh peeled ginger root)
  • a dash of sea salt (I use 1/8 tsp Himalayan salt)
  • a little honey, maple syrup, or stevia (I use about 1 Tbsp Grade B maple syrup)

Optional: (I haven’t tried adding any of these yet, but you may want to!)

  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds or chia seed gel
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1 Tbsp coconut shreds/flakes
  • 1/2 Tbsp maca

Instructions:

Place all of the ingredients into a high-speed blender and blend for around 30-45 seconds or until nice and smooth. If you don’t have a very powerful blender and your coconut oil is in liquid form, you might want to blend everything except the coconut oil first, then drizzle it on and blend for another 5-10 seconds to avoid clumping.

IMG_2933-1.JPG

IMG_2935-1.JPG

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tropical Turmeric Smoothie

  1. Mike & Gloria McCoy says:

    Sweetie, we had no idea you had a muscle strain. Are you any better? We’re glad the turmeric may help.

    Sent from Mike & Gloria’s iPad.

  2. Love it! Turmeric is such a little powerhouse isn’t it? Sometimes I make hot drinks with it too – with ginger, turmeric, cinnamon, etc.

  3. Kim McCoy says:

    Oooh, I would love to know your recipe(s) for hot drinks–that sounds wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

