Homemade Lip Balm

20140122-230047.jpg

I actually made this lip balm in January but then forgot to post anything about it. In a way that’s great, because I can now report that after 5 months, the lip balm is just as wonderful as on the day I made it!

I really love the way it smells and feels on my lips, and I will definitely be repeating this recipe as soon as I run out. Not only do I use it daily, but it also makes a great little gift–even better if you create a gift set with multiple scents. For gifts, I use 1/2 oz recycled metal tins from Mountain Rose Herbs. At home, I use an adorable little Altoids Smalls tin. In my purse, I carry a small amber glass jar with a screw-on lid (more secure, less chance of leaking/spilling in purse). You could also use an empty ChapStick-style tube-shaped container if you prefer.

Here is the recipe I came up with after reviewing and contemplating countless other recipes online (please ignore the cocoa butter in the photo above–I did NOT wind up including this in my lip balm):

HOMEMADE LIP BALM
*this recipe is for a large batch, enough for approximately 15 1/2 oz tins of lip balm; please adjust quantities according to your needs

Ingredients:
4 Tbsp carnauba wax
8 Tbsp coconut oil
3 Tbsp sweet almond oil
1 tsp vitamin E oil (optional: extends shelf life)
approx. 10-12 drops of essential oil(s) per tin

Instructions:

1. Melt carnauba wax slowly in a double boiler over low heat. If you don’t have a double boiler, you can simply put a glass jar or measuring cup directly into a pot with an inch or so of water. I prefer to use a measuring cup because it has a pouring spout, which comes in handy later. Note: The process of melting this wax felt to me as though it took forever.

20140122-230103.jpg

2. When the wax is finally melted, add the coconut oil and sweet almond oil. Note: The second I added oils to my wax, it seized back up into big hard clumps (see below), and I had to spend time re-melting everything. Next time, I think that I will simply melt the wax together with the oils from the very beginning.

20140122-230116.jpg

3. When your carnauba wax, coconut oil, and sweet almond oil are nicely combined, stir in the vitamin E oil (if using).

20140122-230134.jpg

4. I forgot to mention that I set up all of my tins and essential oils in advance so they would be ready to pour into as soon as the wax and oils had melted. I put mine onto a baking tray to help contain spills and splatters. I wound up not needing the large 2 oz metal tin pictured below, but I had it there just in case there was any left-over lip balm.

20140122-230141.jpg

5. Pour melted lip balm into tins and stir in essential oil(s) of your choosing with a chopstick (use one clean chopstick for each different scent). Stir quickly–especially if the temperature in your room is cool–to avoid having the lip balm harden before the scent is fully mixed in.

I made 4 tins of sweet orange, 4 tins (plus one glass jar) of peppermint, 3 tins of lavender, and 2 tins of lavender eucalyptus (which actually wound up being a great combination). If you are making an entire batch in the same scent, it would be easier to simply add your essential oil(s) into the double boiler/measuring cup/glass jar before pouring the liquid lip balm into the containers. I did mine this way because I knew I wanted to experiment with a variety of different smells.

20140122-230149.jpg

6. Carefully transfer baking tray with OPEN lip balm containers into the fridge for about an hour, until completely cool and solid. Then remove from fridge, add the lids, and store at room temperature. Enjoy!

20140122-230158.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Lip Balm

  1. Mike & Gloria McCoy says:

    Neat!

    Sent from Mike & Gloria’s iPad.

  2. Kayse says:

    These look awesome! And beeswax free, too!

Leave a Reply

