How to Salvage Burnt Cookies

20131220-111222.jpg

For both financial and health reasons, I’m on a mission lately to completely eliminate store-bought snacks for Zander and instead make them all from scratch, preferably gluten-free. This is a gradual process, but an important one for our family.

I felt discouraged on Wednesday when Zander flatly rejected my homemade crackers as “not crispy enough” (what on earth am I going to do with the dozens of crackers that I painstakingly rolled out to 1/16th of an inch, then cut by hand and baked, and he simply refuses to eat?), but I decided to keep on trying.

“Cookies should be a home-run,” I thought. And with my new motto of “the simpler, fewer, and less expensive ingredients, the better,” I decided to try a recipe from the Detoxinista’s Healthy Christmas Cookie Roundup.

Unfortunately, something went horribly wrong with my gluten-free chocolate chip cookies this morning, and after only 7 minutes in the oven, the edges wound up burnt to a crisp. Knowing that children, especially, eat with their eyes, I felt dismayed and certain that Zander would never even touch one of these. I was convinced that I had just wasted some very good organic ingredients (homemade almond flour, extra virgin coconut oil, maple syrup, Himalayan salt, baking soda, vanilla, and chocolate chips) as well as my own time.

Then it occurred to me that I might be able to use a cookie cutter to trim off the burnt edges. I tried it, and it worked perfectly, with the added benefit of creating uniformly shaped and sized cookies! I do recommend trying this recipe, which you can find here.

Zander is now obsessed with these cookies, and my new problem has become trying to keep them away from him! I’ll figure out later what I did wrong with this particular batch (I think I may have accidentally used too much coconut oil), but in the meantime, I thought I’d share this quick emergency fix for burnt cookies in case you ever run into a near-disaster while doing your own baking.

By the way, the outer edges do not taste nearly as bad as they look, and I’ve always liked my cookies slightly burnt (is that weird?), so I am eating those myself rather than throwing them away. Waste not want not. 🙂

20131220-111233.jpg

20131220-111246.jpg

20131220-111253.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Salvage Burnt Cookies

  1. Mike & Gloria McCoy says:

    How smart you are! You’d never know there was any burnt area.No wonder Zander loves them.

    Sent from Mike & Gloria’s iPad.

  2. Mike & Gloria McCoy says:

    As for the wheat thins, how about crumbling them up as toppings for casseroles?

    Sent from Mike & Gloria’s iPad.

Leave a Reply

