Roasted Beet Salad

20131121-145027.jpg

I almost never prepare beets at home, either cooked or raw. It’s not that I don’t like them, or even that I don’t know how to use them. I can think of lots of ideas, including an amazing Sri Lankan curry that I learned how to make when I lived there briefly in 2005. I really don’t know why I rarely use beets! And yet, when I received two beautiful beets in my delivery box last week (fresh, organic, locally grown produce), I wasn’t quite sure what I’d do with them, so I let them sit in the fridge for six days.

This salad–which is admittedly very simple–evolved gradually last night. I initially thought that I would just roast the beets and we would eat them plain.

I scrubbed the beets and massaged a bit of extra virgin olive oil and Himalayan salt into their skins, then wrapped them (whole) in an aluminum foil packet and cooked them at 375 degrees F for about an hour. I knew they were done when I could stick a fork into them with ease. Then I took them out of the oven, set them aside to cool, and sort of forgot about them.

When I came back into the kitchen a little while later, I decided to peel the beets, dice them into bite-sized pieces, and toss them in some more olive oil along with a delicious peach-infused white balsamic vinegar from our local farmers’ market. They tasted amazing on their own just like this, and they were downright addictive when served on a bed of baby spinach leaves topped with a handful of chopped walnuts (soaked/dehydrated for easier digestion).

This salad was so delicious that I craved it all morning and had to resist the urge to eat it for breakfast. When lunchtime finally rolled around, I finished off the leftovers with glee. It was so easy to make, and this is not really a “recipe” at all, but I decided to share it just as inspiration–and a reminder to myself to eat more beets.

Zander loved the way the beet juice turned everything pink, and I have to admit that the color made me smile, too. 🙂

20131121-145043.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

