Gluten-free Pizza (2 Ways)

20131114-203119.jpg

This meal was extremely popular with each member of the family, and it was super easy to make while still maintaining a made-from-scratch feel, so I want to share the “recipe” (for lack of a better word).

I wish I could say that I had made the crust (or red sauce) from scratch, but I didn’t. I used one bag of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pizza Crust mix and followed the instructions on the package without modification. I like that they provided a note on how to substitute flax meal and water for eggs, so that I didn’t even have to think about how much to use.

I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that one bag would make enough dough for two large pizzas. However, I was also caught off guard, because I only had enough ingredients for one tomato-sauce pizza. I decided to make the second pizza with a garlic olive oil base (two ingredients we always have in the house), and it wound up being the crowd favorite! Even Zander loved it. For the garlic sauce, I simply combined:

– about 7/8 cup fresh garlic (minced)
– 2 Tbsp olive oil
– 3 Tbsp water

After spreading the garlic mixture all over the pizza (below on the left), I sprinkled a generous portion of Himalayan salt. Then I spread my (Muir Glenn organic) tomato pizza sauce on the other pizza.

20131114-203128.jpg

For the toppings, I added one thinly sliced Roma tomato and some fresh basil to the garlic pizza.

Then I sauteed some chopped mushrooms (about 12 creminis), several large handfuls of fresh baby spinach, and 2 diced Tofurky vegan sausages (spinach pesto flavored, not gluten-free) in olive oil and Himalayan salt for the other pizza. I topped that mixture with about a cup of sliced black olives (Zander’s favorite).

20131114-203153.jpg

Next, I sprinkled on some Daiya vegan mozzarella cheese (splitting one full bag between the two pizzas).

20131114-203203.jpg

The result was yummy! Zander ate 4 slices (2 of each pizza). He especially enjoyed dipping the garlic pizza into a big dollop of Wildwood garlic aioli. Go figure. Buon appetito!

20131114-203216.jpg

20131114-203253.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten-free Pizza (2 Ways)

  1. Mike & Gloria McCoy says:

    Yummo! I’m not even hungry but it looks delish.

    Sent from Mike & Gloria’s iPad.

Leave a Reply

