Crispy Spelt Crackers – Savory

20131001-193126.jpg

While I am trying to be entirely gluten-free these days, I will make an occasional exception for spelt. These crackers looked too simple and tasty to miss, so Zander and I baked them this morning for snack time. Our source? You guessed it–Oh She Glows. It turns out this recipe is super quick and easy to make, and it can also be quite versatile. I’m thrilled!

Below are the recipe and photos, and at the end are some ideas we came up with for how to eat the crackers. My favorite (which surprised me) was the hummus and chive combo.

By the way, Angela calls these Easy Cheezy Crackers, but to me, they do not taste overtly cheesy. I can taste the nutritional yeast, because I know it’s in there, but they do not scream “cheese” to me. That’s why I’m just calling them Crispy Spelt Crackers.

Crispy Spelt Crackers

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons whole grain spelt flour (I didn’t see the 2 Tbsp part until just now, so I only used 1 1/4 cups of spelt, but luckily, they still turned out fine)
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 4-6 Tbsp water (I used 6-7 Tbsp)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine spelt flour, nutritional yeast, and sea salt.

3. Stir in olive oil and water, and mix until dough is combined.

4. Roll dough on a floured surface with a floured rolling pin until it is 1/8-1/4 inch thick. (My crackers were definitely more on the 1/4 inch thick side, and I will be sure to roll them much thinner next time, but they still tasted good.)

5. Cut cracker shapes with cookie cutters (or with a knife or pizza slicer).

20131001-193156.jpg

6. Using a spatula, gently remove each cracker and place on prepared baking sheet. Repeat until dough is used up.

20131001-193204.jpg

7. Sprinkle crackers with sea salt, and poke holes with a fork.

20131001-193211.jpg

8. Bake in the oven at 350F for 18-22 minutes (depending on thickness), watching closely so you don’t burn them. (I only baked mine for 15 minutes, because my oven runs really hot, and they were perfect, so I’m glad I peeked before the 18 minute mark.)

9. Place on a rack to cool. Store in a container at room temperature. Crackers also freeze well. Makes about 60 small crackers. (Mine only made 35 crackers, but that’s because I was careless and rolled them very thick. If I had rolled them thinner, then 60 seems just about right).

Here are a few ideas for toppings that Zander and I sampled (and loved) this morning:

~ cucumber slices with hemp seed dressing and fresh dill (we started by making a sandwich with two crackers, but ultimately decided that we preferred them open-faced)

20131001-193222.jpg

Mediterranean quinoa salad (Zander and I have been eating this dish like it’s going out of style lately–I’ve made it twice in the last week–and it was just as great on these crackers as it is by the spoonful)

20131001-193231.jpg

~ plain-old-creamy-delicious avocado

20131001-193239.jpg

~ hummus and chives

20131001-193247.jpg

~ Daiya vegan cheese wedge (jack style)

20131001-193255.jpg

They are also just yummy to snack on all by themselves, with nothing on them! I think the flavor variations Angela suggested at the end of her blog sound great, and I plan to experiment with some of those next time.

A sweet cinnamon version might be really yummy for Zander’s post-swim-lesson snack. I’m picturing cute little shapes (not “boring” squares) made into mini-sandwiches filled with creamy cashew butter or maple almond butter with raisins! I would sprinkle them with cinnamon sugar instead of sea salt before baking. I’ll try to remember to post an update when we make them this way… 🙂

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

