Melt-in-Your-Mouth Raw Chocolate Treats (2 recipes)

20130930-212518.jpg

OK, I’ll admit it. I went a little bit crazy the other day and made not one, but two, half-batches of raw vegan chocolate treats. As usual, it’s a good thing I only made half a batch of each, because I ate them all within two days. And as usual, I found both recipes on the Oh She Glows blog. Since this seems to be my go-to source for practically everything these days, and I have yet to try a recipe I dislike from her site, I have pre-ordered Angela’s cookbook on Amazon. It’s due out next March, so you can expect a lot more copycat posts from me at that time. 😉

But let’s get back to the chocolate.

It was easy to justify my indulgence by thinking about some of the amazing properties of raw cacao powder–a magical superfood that tastes incredible; is high in magnesium, fiber, calcium, and iron; and has more than ten times the antioxidants of blueberries. Combine that with raw extra virgin coconut oil–a superfood that is rich in lauric, capric, and caprylic acids and has antimicrobial, antifungal, and antibacterial properties–and it suddenly seems almost foolish not to consume these treats in mass quantities!

I was also looking for a good recipe to try out the raw cacao butter that has been sitting in my pantry for months because I didn’t know what to do with it. In fact, that’s what started this whole thing. So I’ll start with that recipe first.

However, I must say that, while both desserts are decadent and delicious, the raw almond butter cups (mine would be more aptly named “tiny chocolate oat bites”) are by far my favorite. They are absolutely exceptional, and I will definitely be making them again…and again…and again. 🙂

Raw Vegan Chocolates
(recipe re-posted from Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:

  • 120 grams cacao/cocoa butter (about 1 cup of chunks) (I used RAW cacao butter)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder (I used RAW cacao powder)
  • 1/2 cup room-temperature pure maple syrup
  • pinch of fine grain sea salt
  • flaked sea salt, for finishing (I didn’t have any flaked sea salt, so I finished with some smoked sea salt, which was really yummy)

Instructions:

1. Gently melt the cacao butter in a pot over the lowest heat setting. Or you can use a double boiler. (I used a make-shift double-boiler on very low heat).

2. Whisk all other ingredients (except flaked sea salt)  into the pot.

3. Pour into 12 silicone cups and sprinkle with flaked sea salt (optional). Alternatively, you can use paper liners (they will stick a tiny bit but will still peel off) or line a baking sheet with parchment paper and drop spoonfuls all over the paper. Plastic chocolate molds may stick.

4. Freeze for 30 minutes or until firm. Pop chocolate out of the cups and enjoy immediately. Store in the fridge or freezer until ready to use.

20130930-212601.jpg

While I was waiting for these chocolates to set in the freezer, I decided it would be a good idea to also make the Raw Almond Butter Cups from Oh She Glows. Mine are not entirely raw, because I did not use raw oats. However, you could make them raw if you wanted to, and either way, and as far as treats go, this one is relatively guilt-free. Here is the recipe:

Raw Chocolate Almond Butter/Oat Cups

Ingredients:

Base:

  • 3/4 cup raw almonds, ground into a meal (I omitted this, based on the tip at the end of this recipe, simply because I didn’t have enough raw almonds on hand)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats, ground into a flour (I increased this amount to half a cup, because I was making only half of the recipe; but if I had been making the whole recipe, I would have used a full cup of oat flour here to replace the almond meal)
  • 2 tablespoons raw almond butter (or nut butter of choice) (I used raw almond butter, as suggested)
  • 1.5 tablespoons coconut oil, warmed if necessary (I used RAW coconut oil)
  • 1.5 tablespoons pure maple syrup (or agave nectar) (I used maple syrup)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • pinch of fine grain sea salt, to taste

Topping:

  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil (I used RAW coconut oil)
  • 3 tablespoons pure maple syrup (or 2 tbsp agave nectar) (I used maple syrup)
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder (I used RAW cacao powder)
  • pinch of fine grain sea salt, to taste

Instructions:

1. Add almonds and/or oats into a high-speed blender and blend on high until a flour forms. Dump into a large bowl and break up any clumps with your fingers.

2. Add the nut butter, coconut oil, maple syrup (or agave), cinnamon, vanilla, and salt into the bowl. Stir until thoroughly combined. The dough should be fairly sticky like cookie dough.

3. Line a mini (or regular) muffin tin with paper liners or use a silicone muffin holder. (I used a teeny-tiny silicone muffin holder mold, and this recipe yielded 15 adorable bite-sized cups). Portion the dough into each muffin cup and press down until even and smooth.

4. To make the chocolate sauce: Whisk together the coconut oil, sweetener, cacao powder, and salt until no clumps remain. Spoon the sauce over top each of the cups, distributing evenly. Garnish cups with sliced almonds if desired.

5. Place in the freezer in a flat area for 30-45 minutes, until firm. Pop out the cups & enjoy immediately! These are best consumed straight from the freezer.

NOTE: For a nut-free version, replace the almond meal with an equal amount of oat flour (use 1 cup total oat flour), and replace the almond butter with sunflower seed butter.

20130930-212607.jpg

20130930-212615.jpg

20130930-212621.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

