Raw Vegan “Honey Bear” Smoothie

I’ve been wanting to make this smoothie for a long time, ever since I first saw it posted online. Well, today was a long, hot day, and I decided it would make the perfect afternoon snack for Zander and me–so we made it! And now I am hopelessly addicted. Seriously, it is THAT GOOD. 🙂

Before I share the recipe, I want to share the dialogue that occurred between Zander and me before he would even taste the smoothie:

Me: Look, I made you a Honey Bear Smoothie!
Zander: (utterly appalled, because apparently, he thought there were actual bears in the smoothie) Mom, we don’t eat bears!!!!!
Me: Oh, no, honey. You’re right, we don’t. There are no bears in this smoothie. It’s called a Honey Bear Smoothie because it’s made with the sort of things that bears might like to eat.
Zander: (relieved) Oh! But I am not a bear, Mama. I am an octopus (points to octopus on his t-shirt as evidence). Could you please make me an Octopus Smoothie instead?
Me: Oops! I messed up. As it turns out, this IS an Octopus Smoothie! Here you go!
Zander: (complete silence as he sucked down his entire smoothie without pausing for air)

I didn’t take any photos of the smoothie, but you can see some beautiful ones on the Neighborfood blog, which is also my source for the recipe. As usual, I modified slightly based on what I had on hand (and in this case, to make it raw and fully vegan), so I’ll include my modifications below.

Ingredients:

1 cup almond or coconut milk (I used about 1 1/2 cups raw coconut milk instead–I made this by blending about 3/4 cup Thai young coconut flesh with about 3/4 cup coconut water–delicious!!! I really think this is what made the smoothie taste so decadent and special…)
ice cubes (small handful)
2 Tbsp peanut butter (I used raw almond butter instead)
1/2 Tbsp honey (I used 1-2 Tbsp Grade B maple syrup instead)
1 banana (frozen)
2 tsp cinnamon (I used one HEAPING tablespoon)

Instructions:

First, I blended the Thai young coconut flesh and coconut water to make the coconut milk. Next, I added everything else and just blended it until it was smooth (for about a minute).

This was one of those days when I was especially happy to have a Vitamix (not that a day goes by when I don’t use it), because nothing else matches the creamy consistency it can create with such ease. 🙂

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raw Vegan “Honey Bear” Smoothie

  1. I’m so glad you and your little octopus liked the smoothie! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! I definitely will try this with maple syrup next time–that sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

