Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

20130531-194453.jpg

I had forgotten just how incredibly delicious and satisfying this vegan and gluten-free meal is until last night. It is especially nice during warmer months. The recipe is from Kris Carr’s fabulous book, Crazy Sexy Diet.

MEDITERRANEAN QUINOA SALAD WITH CAPERS

Ingredients:
3 cups quinoa, cooked
1/4 cup olive oil
3 Tbsp fresh mint or dill (I used dill)
3 Tbsp capers
2 Tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 Tbsp lemon zest (I omitted the zest, simply because I have never been able to figure out how to zest things the right way)
3 Tbsp pine nuts, lightly toasted (I tossed in my pine nuts raw)
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons leek, minced (I omitted this, because I didn’t have any leeks on hand)
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Hand toss all ingredients, and serve warm or chilled.

NOTE: I doubled the recipe for the “dressing.” In other words, I doubled everything but the quinoa. Doing so resulted in a more flavorful salad, and it also meant that I wouldn’t waste the extra dill I had on hand. It was super yummy!!! I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch today–if I can convince Zander to share them with me!

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

  1. Jen says:

    This was delicious! My relatives were visiting from Germany last night and I made this dish to add to the BBQ at my sister’s house. It was a big hit! Thanks for posting it!

  2. Kim McCoy says:

    Yay!! I’m so happy to hear this! Glad you liked it! xo

  3. Amy says:

    Hi!
    Just wanted to let you know that I have been religiously following your blog for quite some time now! We are raising our son a vegetarian, as I have been a vegetarian for most of my life and wish for him to do the same. Your blog is GREAT-my boyfriend refers to it all the time lol, he’ll say “Zander’s vegan mama wouldn’t serve her son that!” Keep the great recipes coming! Also, I think we must live close to one another. I am in Lake Forest and also did the cleanse at 118 degrees!

  4. Kim McCoy says:

    Amy, what a nice note!! I have been smiling ever since I read it. I love to share good recipes whenever I am lucky enough to stumble across them, and it is thrilling to think that other people are enjoying them, too!!! 🙂

  5. Kim McCoy says:

    p.s. What a neat coincidence that you have also done the cleanse at 118 Degrees! We do live near each other. I am in Rancho Santa Margarita. 🙂

    • Amy says:

      We are definitely loving them, we are making pot pies again for the 3rd time! My son Olver also love the homemade “goldfish” Small world! My dad lives in RSM 🙂

  6. Pingback: Crispy Spelt Crackers – Savory | Vegan Mama

Leave a Reply

