Raw Vegan Key Lime Pie

In February, we took my Aunt Julie, who was visiting from Rhode Island, to one of our all-time favorite restaurants–Cafe Gratitude. After a predictably delicious and life-affirming meal (if you’ve ever been to Cafe G, you’ll know what I mean by this), we decided to sample a few desserts. The “I Am Awakening” key lime pie was a unanimous favorite at our table–one of those desserts that is so good you are still talking about it weeks later. Which is why I knew I had to try and recreate it.

The bad news is, I stumbled onto the actual official recipe after I had already made a different version that I found online, so I haven’t been able to try it yet. The good news is, the other version tasted really wonderful, and my husband didn’t know the difference! So I will share them both (via the links above) and you can decide which one to try. Here’s the recipe for the one I made:

RAW VEGAN KEY LIME PIE

Crust Ingredients
1 1/4 cups pecans
1 1/4 cups macadamias or walnuts (I only had a cup of macadamias, so I substituted an extra 1/4 cup of pecans to make up the difference, totaling 1 1/2 cups pecans and 1 cup macadamias)
1/4 cup finely chopped dates
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp unrefined sea salt

Filling Ingredients
3/4 cup fresh lime juice (I forgot to count–but I remember that it took a LOT of limes to get this amount of juice–more than I had expected)
1 cup diced avocado (approx. 2 small or 1 large avocado)
1/2 cup agave nectar or maple syrup (I used agave nectar)
1/3 cup coconut milk (I blended some young coconut flesh with 1/3 cup of water to make my own coconut milk, and it was super yummy)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp unrefined sea salt
2 Tbsp lecithin
1/2 cup coconut butter
optional: 1/2 tsp “green” veggie/grass powder, for a greener color (I did NOT include this, out of fear that it would affect the taste and/or texture)

Instructions

For the crust, process the ingredients in a food processor with the “S” blade attachment, until small and crumbly (I used my Vitamix and got great results). Press into a greased (with coconut butter) 9-inch pie pan.

For the filling, blend all ingredients except lecithin and coconut butter in a food processor or blender, until smooth. Add lecithin and coconut butter, blending until well incorporated. Pour into prepared crust and freeze for 1 hour, or until firm. (Mine was firm enough to eat after a couple of hours, but even better after being in the freezer overnight).

Before freezing:

20130504-201841.jpg

 

After freezing:

20130507-063350.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

