Vegan Cheesy Canadian Bacon Omelets

This morning, I woke up with the urge to make a special Sunday breakfast, while also using up the limited ingredients in our refrigerator (today is grocery shopping day). I decided to try a recipe for vegan omelets by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, from her cookbook, Vegan Brunch. It was my first time making these, but this recipe did not disappoint!

You can find the more detailed recipe (with lots of delicious-sounding suggested fillings) at the link above on Isa’s Post Punk Kitchen website, but for general reference, below are the ingredients I used today:

VEGAN OMELETS
*This recipe made 4 large omelets.

Ingredients:
2 cloves garlic
1 14 oz package silken tofu, lightly drained (not the vacuum packed kind), or soft tofu (I did not have either of these on hand, but I did have a pound of extra firm tofu, so I decided to just go for it and try with the extra firm)
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon turmeric (I used about 1 tsp of turmeric in order to get the desired color)
1 teaspoon fine black salt, plus extra for sprinkling (I used a grey smoked sea salt instead, and it was yummy)
1/2 cup chickpea flour
1 tablespoon arrowroot or cornstarch (I used arrowroot)

I blended all of the above in my Vitamix and added a bit more salt and pepper until it tasted just right, then chopped up some vegan Canadian bacon.

20121216-110950.jpg

Then I proceeded to cook my omelets the same way I remember cooking them for my Dad when I was a kid (except that today’s were vegan, of course). I spread the “egg” mixture into the skillet and sprinkled on a generous helping of Daiya vegan cheddar cheese along with the diced vegan Canadian bacon.

20121216-110957.jpg

When the omelet seemed stable enough, after a few minutes of cooking, I folded it in half. I cooked it this way for a few more minutes, then flipped it again and cooked the other side before serving.

20121216-111002.jpg

Next, I fried up some vegan hash browns as a side dish, and voila, breakfast was served! I was really pleasantly surprised by the results and can’t wait to try this again sometime using the proper kind of tofu. I can’t believe it’s been almost a decade since I’ve enjoyed a cheesy omelet, and now this whole new world has been re-opened for me! Zander liked his, too. 🙂

20121216-111007.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

