Pure Market Express – Days 1 and 2

I am now two days into my Pure Market Express meals, and I am so excited to give a few brief reviews! First, let me say that I will ABSOLUTELY be ordering from them again. Everything I’ve tried so far has been at least “OK,” and many things have been mind-blowingly, exceptionally delicious.

I’ll preface this blog by noting that I am in the middle of an unusually busy week (which is part of why I treated myself to this meal delivery service), so my photos and food presentation are going to be even more mediocre than usual. But trust me, no matter how much these foods are lacking in aesthetics, they more than make up for it in flavor.

I’ll start with the chocolate chip pancakes, which I ate for breakfast on Monday. I thought that I had ordered blueberry pancakes, but if this was an error, then it is the happiest error I’ve ever experienced, because I truly can’t imagine any raw pancake tasting better than these. Two days later, and I’m still wondering, how did they do that? Even the texture is amazing!! Seriously, these are delicious, and I will absolutely order them again.

20120910-174706.jpg

For lunch on Monday, I ate the “baked mac & cheese pasta.” I’m sorry to report that I was too busy at work to stop and take a photo, but luckily, this dish is easy enough to describe. It was basically just a container full of spiralized zucchini along with a pouch of orange “cheese sauce” to mix in before eating. In hindsight, I would probably have drained off some of the excess liquid from the zucchini before mixing in the cheese sauce, but despite being a little bit watery, this dish was still really good. The cheese sauce had an excellent flavor, and I’ve never been able to spiralize any vegetable as perfectly as they did.

For dinner last night, I ate the lasagna and the jalapeno bacon poppers. The lasagna, while really tasty, was just OK for me. I have literally no complaints about it; it just didn’t rock my world. Maybe that was because it paled in comparison to the jalapeno bacon poppers, which were SUPER-yummy! I have no idea how they managed to turn dehydrated eggplant into the world’s most perfect “bacon” bits, but they did it. This dish had a great little spicy kick to it that was balanced by the mild “cheese.” I will definitely order it again.

20120910-174714.jpg

I ate the chocolate cheesecake for dessert last night (no photograph, sorry), and it was good, but not great. The texture was smooth and creamy, but the coconut flavor was too strong for me, and the crust simply did not compare to the mouth-watering crusts on the 118 Degrees desserts I ate a couple of months ago. I don’t know how 118 Degrees does whatever they do to their crusts to make them so insanely tasty, but this one was lacking in comparison. Again, not bad, by any means. Just not the peak of perfection. But then again, I’m kind of picky. Which should make my next paragraph even more meaningful…

Now to the highlight of my entire week–if not month–today’s breakfast: the cinnamon roll. I have to admit that I was not expecting much from this when I ordered it, and I almost changed my mind and chose something else. I am so glad I didn’t. This cinnamon roll is RIDICULOUSLY, addictively delicious!!!!! It is absolute perfection on a plate (although I didn’t bother with a plate). After eating this, it’s been all that I can think about all day. I am not kidding. HOW DID THEY DO THIS????? The first picture below shows how this came in the package–with the icing in a separate little pouch to keep everything just right until you are ready to eat it. Below that is the fully assembled roll. YUM!!!!!

20120911-203532.jpg

20120911-203538.jpg

Today, I had a mid-morning snack of corn chips and tomato-basil cheese. Both of these are absolute MUST re-order items. The chips tasted fantastic, and they actually held up to the very thick cheese dip and didn’t break off while trying to scoop it out of the container. The cheese was intensely flavorful–really sensational. This little snack brightened my day!

20120911-203545.jpg

For lunch, I ate the manicotti, which is pictured below as packaged, then after pouring the tomato sauce on top of the manicotti “noodles.” AMAZING. The flavors were rich, creamy, and complex. I actually preferred this to the lasagna, and I would definitely order it again.

20120911-203558.jpg

20120911-203606.jpg

And finally, tonight’s dinner–the taco salad kit. It came with some really delicious (nicely seasoned) dehydrated “taco meat,” plus diced tomatoes and avocados and a white sauce that was either supposed to be sour cream or some sort of salad dressing, each in separate pouches to keep things in tact prior to assembly. There were also 2 flavorful flax crackers at the bottom, but Zander devoured one of these before I could get it onto my plate. 🙂 I poured all of the ingredients onto a bed of mixed baby greens expecting an incredible feast, but something about this just didn’t click for me. I ate it, and there was nothing wrong with it, but it just wasn’t my favorite. Although I LOVED the consistency of the white sauce, the flavor was a little too lemony for me in this salad, I think. And in retrospect, I would have added my own fresh avocado if I’d been thinking. There is nothing appealing about brown avocado. Despite my lack of enthusiasm for this particular dish, I am still giving Pure Market Express RAVE reviews overall. Their food is among the best raw food I have ever tasted, and I’m amazed by how well they’ve packaged it and shipped it halfway across the country, which is making my life so easy this week. I’m looking forward to trying more goodies tomorrow!!!

20120911-203613.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Meal Plans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

