School Lunch #2 + Crock Pot Success!

20120709-212816.jpg

Above is a photo of today’s lunch, which is simple and pretty self-explanatory (the dipping container is full of hummus, which Zander apparently dug out and ate with his fingers). I arrived early today to pick Zander up, and he was still outside eating with the other children. I wish that I had snapped a photo when I arrived, because it was so adorable seeing them all sitting at their little toddler-sized tables and munching away.

Zander ate everything in his box today except for a few carrots and some slices of kiwi. Yesterday’s leftovers (aka “rejects”) included 2 carrots, 3 tofu sticks, and a mangled piece of half-eaten broccoli. I wonder if he has fun eating his lunches, or if a brown bag with a regular-sized sandwich would be just as good in his world? Probably the latter, but how on earth could I justify having more than a dozen cookie cutters if I didn’t use them for Zander’s lunches?

On to the next topic: our very first crock pot meal. I decided to make the Thai Red Curry Tofu and Veggies recipe from Kathy Hester’s book, The Vegan Slow Cooker.

Immediate disclosure: I made a rookie mistake. In my excitement and haste yesterday morning, I threw all of the pre-chopped veggies into the pot at once, rather than actually reading the instructions, which indicated that the broccoli should go in at the very end, about half an hour before serving. Luckily, I did read this part in time to withhold the coconut milk, which was also meant to be added near the end. The only real downside was that the broccoli wound up soggy and brown-ish instead of crunchy and green–still perfectly edible, so it’s not like my mistake ruined the dish. But next time, I will know better.

On the plus side, I did come up with an adaptation that I think may have resulted in more even flavor distribution. Instead of adding the Thai red curry paste (which is quite thick) and the water separately, I mixed the two and then poured them in together. Then again, who am I kidding? It probably said to do this in the instructions, and I just didn’t read it. 😉

Anyhow, I’m not going to include the precise recipe here, because (to be brutally honest), I found it to be very bland, and I wound up freelancing and spicing it up quite a bit. But I will tell you that the entire process was as simple as chopping, julienning, and/or cubing some broccoli, cauliflower, bamboo shoots, red peppers, onions, and tofu and throwing them into the pot with water, fresh-squeezed lime juice, coconut milk, and seasonings, and then I simply covered the crock pot, set the timer for 8 hours (on low), and walked away.

It was FABULOUS to come home to a hot and perfectly (aside from my limp broccoli) cooked meal yesterday, and my 4-quart crock pot made enough for two meals! The last photo on this page shows the amount of leftovers I was able to store in the fridge. We are having a picnic on the beach tonight with friends, and tomorrow we’ll be eating our leftover Thai red curry, but I can’t wait to try another recipe from Kathy’s book on Thursday!

20120709-212825.jpg

20120709-212831.jpg

20120709-212845.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Meal Plans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

