Raw Chocolate Cherry Pie

OMG. This pie is so delicious that I literally just stopped everything I was doing to jump on my computer and blast out the recipe immediately. I simply cannot believe that something so natural and minimally processed can taste so rich and creamy and indulgent!

I recently discovered an incredible blog called Raw on $10 a Day (or Less) and subscribed via email. This Chocolate Cherry Pie is the first recipe I’ve made, and as you can tell, it has really knocked my socks off. I made it last night and popped it into the freezer just before bed. Zander and I just enjoyed a slice of it for breakfast because we couldn’t wait until lunch time to sample it.

To put it in Zander’s words, “Chocolate cherry pie makes me dance.” Literally.

Check out Raw on $10’s photo, because it is so much prettier than mine. I’ll admit that I was in far too big a hurry to eat my pie to worry about making it look nice. 😉

I did include some additional photos at the bottom of Zander helping me to make the pie yesterday (that’s the avocado/chocolate layer all over his face, and in his hands are some little “cookies” we made out of our left-over crust mixture.)

Below is the recipe. I adapted it slightly based on personal taste and what I had on hand in my pantry, and as usual, I will include my modifications in parenthesis. Alana, if you’re reading this, disregard the layers with nuts and just make the avocado/chocolate layer!!!

Oh, and stay tuned for the most delicious raw Wild Mushroom Bisque recipe in the universe (not exaggerating), which I learned last night in a class taught by Chef Raya Belna!!! I’ll be making that soup for tonight’s dinner; my dehydrated porcinis are already soaking in filtered water and plumping up. My plan is to really blow Alex’s mind with a mouthwatering gourmet raw meal (featuring this decadent pie for dessert) after his long day at work. I’ll let you know how it goes. Until then, have a great day, everyone!

20120607-084608.jpg

CHOCOLATE CHERRY PIE
serves 8 ~ $1.96 per serving

crust
1 cup nuts, soaked and dehydrated (The recipe doesn’t specify which kind of nuts to use, so I used pecans, which I soaked for about 4 hours but did not dehydrate.)
1 cup dates (I used medjool)
pinch salt (I also sprinkled a light layer of salt on top of my crust before pouring on the chocolate topping.)

chocolate layer
4 ripe avocados
1/2 cup agave nectar
1/2 cup raw cocoa or cacao powder (I used raw cacao.)
1 teaspoon vanilla
pinch salt

cherry layer
1 cup almonds, soaked overnight (I used cashews, and I soaked them for about 8 hours.)
2 cups cherries (These took forever to de-stem and pit, but it was well worth the effort.)
1/2 cup agave nectar

cherry sauce
1 cup cherries (I wound up adding a lot more cherries, using at least 2 1/2 cups, because I found this sauce to have much too strong a date flavor for my taste. Next time, I will probably either use only 1/4 cup of dates or skip them altogether and use agave nectar.)
1 cup dates (I used medjool.)

Instructions

Make the crust first. In a food processor fitted with an “S” blade, process the nuts until medium fine. Add the dates and process again until the mixture starts to stick together. Press into the bottom and up the sides of an eight inch springform pan. (I don’t have a springform pan, so I put mine into a large, deep, round glass dish with a lid. It was a little bit tricky to get out, but otherwise worked just fine. Also, I did all of my processing in my beloved Vitamix rather than a food processor.)

The chocolate layer is super simple. In a food processor fitted with an “S” blade, process all the chocolate ingredients until very smooth. Pour into the prepared crust and freeze for at least two hours.

Cherry layer. In a food processor fitted with an “S” blade, process all the ingredients until very smooth. Pour over the frozen chocolate layer. Put back in the freezer until about 20 minutes before serving. Remove from the freezer and allow to thaw just a little before serving.

The cherry topping is also good on ice creams and is very simple to make. Just process the cherries and dates in a small bullet type blender until very smooth. Spoon over the individual pie slices.

20120607-084527.jpg

20120607-084537.jpg

20120607-084547.jpg

20120607-084600.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raw Chocolate Cherry Pie

  1. Alana says:

    Wow Kim! This looks amazing:) I have to make this pie ASAP! I loved the video of Zander doing the cherry pie dance.

Leave a Reply

