Rainbow Salad

I have been eating living foods for the past 3 weeks now and am continuing to feel better,  lighter, and healthier in every imaginable way! Tonight, we are going to a full moon drum circle on the beach, and I’m just about to finish packing our picnic dinner while Zander naps.

Last night, I pulled out one of my favorite old recipes–perfect for picnics and potlucks–that is slightly adapted from a salad I learned to make almost a decade ago during a raw foods prep class taught by Karyn Calabrese. Karyn is the owner of several cooked and raw vegan restaurants in Chicago, and her food is absolutely amazing. I credit her with teaching me to fully appreciate the beauty of whole, raw, unprocessed foods.

Zander and Alex are still eating cooked foods in addition to the raw, so I’ve added some extras into Zander’s Planet Box (pictured below) for tonight, including Tofurkey “sausage” bites with ketchup, vegan mac ‘n cheese, fresh mango slices, and a handful of raisins. I know he loves his mac ‘n cheese, but I think that he will love his rainbow salad just as much as the cooked foods.

I made this dish ahead of time, because the flavors really shine when it’s been sitting for about a day in the fridge.

I’ll insert the recipe below this photo (sorry it’s a bit blurry).

20120604-154321.jpg

RAINBOW SALAD

Combine the following ingredients (plus dressing) in a large bowl, mix well, cover, and allow to marinate for several hours (overnight is ideal) in the fridge:

4-6 ears sweet corn kernels (scraped from the cob)
1-2 cups finely chopped broccoli
2-3 diced avocados
1-2 diced red peppers
3-4 diced tomatoes
½-1 cup carrots (I prefer mine finely chopped in a food processor)
fresh chopped basil (and/or other herbs) to taste–we used lots, grown in our balcony garden, which is thriving in the California sun!

Here is where I departed from the original recipe. This dish, as prepared in Karyn’s class, calls for the following dressing, all sort of eye-balled/measured to taste:

Celtic sea salt
fresh-squeezed citrus (lemon, lime, or orange) juice
olive oil
cayenne pepper

While I love the salad dressed Karyn’s way, I wanted to try something new for tonight, and I am so glad that I did. The following recipe is from Kris Carr’s book, Crazy Sexy Diet, and it is absolutely heavenly on this salad!

IMPORTANT NOTE: I halved the recipe, which was perfect for the amount of salad I made, and I omitted the ginger, because I didn’t have any on hand. Also, I used stone ground mustard instead of Dijon, for the same reason. This dressing is not 100% raw, because of the mustard, but I couldn’t imagine making it without the mustard, and I now believe that eating a few cooked items in moderation is just fine. This is a huge departure from my previous all-or-nothing attitude, which is probably why I went backwards from a 100% raw vegan diet to a junk food vegan diet back in 2004. Anyhow, here’s the recipe:

SWEET DIJON VINAIGRETTE

3/4 cup prepared Dijon mustard (if using fresh, use a bit less)
3/4 cup flax oil
1/4 cup agave nectar
2 Tbsp fresh ginger, finely minced
4 cloves garlic, finely minced
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
3 Tbsp nama shoyu
1/4 cup water
1 Tbsp sea salt

In a mixing bowl, whisk all ingredients together until smooth. Yum!!!

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

