Living Foods Detox – Day 2

Like yesterday, I am writing about the previous day’s meals, as today I am on Day 3 of the detox. My detox symptoms (primarily nausea, headache, and chills) are now in full swing, which is a good thing, even though it’s not exactly fun in the moment, because it means this is working and the raw foods are facilitating a deep cleanse of my body. I took a 2-hour nap this afternoon along with Zander, and although my thermostat says that it is 74 degrees, I wrapped myself in a very thick blanket and shivered until I fell asleep. I am feeling better now and planning to take Zander out for a walk before dinner. I’ll be sure to drink another big glass of water before we leave and take some with me, as well, to continue flushing out the toxins.

Below are photos and descriptions of my meals from yesterday (Day 2).

BREAKFAST: A creamy, dreamy, delicious bowl of chocolate avocado “yogurt.” Partway through the bowl, I discovered that there were tasty, juicy little pomegranate bits scattered throughout. Yum!!! This was by far my favorite meal of the day. I felt like I was eating a rich and decadent dessert.

20120516-160522.jpg

LUNCH: Shitake lettuce cups with tahini cheese. At first, I thought they must have forgotten to include my tahini cheese, but then I discovered it last night–it had simply been placed in the wrong package with my dinner instead of my lunch. Zander and I dipped some raw carrots in it for a snack today, which was fantastic, and Zander wound up hijacking and devouring the majority of the “cheese” with his fingers. And getting back to lunch, I truly didn’t miss it there, because the garlicky, mustardy dressing they provided for the lettuce cups was absolutely divine!! I could have eaten 3 times as much as they included, easily.

20120516-160528.jpg

DINNER: Baja fusion salad with avocado lime sauce and flax crackers. This salad was really just OK. Mine had only 1 flax cracker; the other 2 triangles seemed to be strips of zucchini flax roll, which was fine, except that they were flavorless and too soggy to eat. I think this is just one of the downfalls of buying pre-packaged living foods, and I don’t blame them for it; this is still so much better than making everything from scratch. The avocado lime sauce was good, but it didn’t really excite me; I would have rather had a few small chunks of avocado in my salad and a drizzle of lime juice instead. But the spicy dressing that was included tasted wonderful; it complimented the carrots, corn, zucchini, olives, and mixed greens nicely and really livened everything up (please pardon the pun).

20120516-223507.jpg

DESSERT: A tropical torte. I saved this little treasure to eat after I put Zander to bed last night, and I was glad I did, because it was definitely a tasty little morsel worth savoring. The oranges were juicy and sweet, and the other flavors were rich and satisfying, as well.

20120516-223513.jpg

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

