Daiya Vegan Cheese Crisps

There are probably already recipes out there for these addictive little treats, but I came upon them totally by mistake. When Zander and I made pizza the other night, a lot of the “cheese” wound up on the baking sheet rather than on the pizza itself. While I was slicing the pizza, I absentmindedly nibbled on a piece of the crunchy “cheese” and discovered that it was really tasty!

So today while Zander was napping, I decided to try and recreate these little crisps, and it was a huge success. I am already imagining all sorts of yummy ways to use them, everything from “cheese” croutons for salads to fancy little hors d’oeuvres crackers to something fun and cheesy to dip in salsa. There are so many possibilities! But for now, all I want to do is eat them straight from the oven. They are sooooo good.

Here’s how to make them:

DAIYA VEGAN CHEESE CRISPS

Preheat oven to 350° F.

Place Daiya vegan cheese (I used cheddar, but I’m sure mozzarella would be just as tasty) by the pinchful on an ungreased baking sheet. Space them about a half inch apart, as they may spread slightly. (NOTE: I thought about just sprinkling “cheese” all over the tray and then breaking it apart into pieces later, but I think that it would be really hard to flip something so large, and besides, the crunchy edges are the best part).

20120125-132249.jpg

Bake at 350° F for between 5-10 minutes, then take them out and flip them with a spatula. You will know that they are ready to flip when the outer edges are crispy (but not burned), while the middles are still soft and glistening on top. (NOTE: If you don’t have a spatula handy, you could just pick these up by one of the outer edges and flip them that way.)

20120125-132255.jpg

After flipping the crisps, turn your oven OFF, and put them back in for another 5-10 minutes. I left my oven door cracked open slightly, but I don’t know whether that made a difference. I left it open mostly because I didn’t want to forget they were in there (as if I could).

20120125-132300.jpg

Before you know it, they will be perfectly crisp and ready to eat. I challenge you not to eat them all in one sitting!

20120125-132306.jpg

Enjoy!

About Kim McCoy

Kim McCoy is a passionate animal and environmental advocate with a B.S. in Business Administration from UT Knoxville and a J.D. specializing in Animal and Environmental Law. She graduated with honors from Lewis & Clark Law School, where she served as Editor in Chief of the internationally acclaimed Animal Law Review and interned with the National Center for Animal Law and the International Environmental Law Project. Kim is a member of MENSA (the “high IQ society”) and previously worked for Sea Shepherd Conservation Society in a variety of roles, including Executive Director, Director of Campaigns, and Director of Legal Affairs. Kim is also the former Executive Director of the One World One Ocean Foundation and the proud mother of a healthy, thriving son who has been vegan since conception. Currently serving as Executive Director of Big Life Foundation, which protects wildlife and wild lands in Eastern Africa, Kim remains deeply committed to the defense of animals worldwide.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daiya Vegan Cheese Crisps

  1. mmmmmm this sounds delish! I was planning on making vegan risotto-stuffed portobello caps tonight – may just have to make some of these with the mozzarella-style cheese and put those on top!

  2. Vegan says:

    That is such a gross use of a product that should be a garnish.

    • NK says:

      It’s a sad world where cheese is relegated to the basement of merely being a decorative embellishment for other food. That said these would make a great garnish on top of a pasta or other savory dish, so feel free to keep your uninspired ideas on other people’s creativity coming.

  3. Kim McCoy says:

    Fair enough; I definitely wouldn’t categorize these as health food. However, they do taste really yummy, no animals were harmed in making them (best part!), and I’m OK with eating a few of them every now and then as a treat. 🙂

  4. this is such a great idea!! I happen to LOVE Daiya, and might just have to whip this up *right now*!! =)

  5. Ok, follow-up note on the mozzarella-style – they take a bit longer than the cheddar-style for some reason. We ended up having to cook ours for about 15-20 minutes at full heat before they got crispy. But they were delicious! And anytime you have Daiya cheese, no matter how you eat it, the word “gross” should never be associated with it! mmmmm

    • Kim McCoy says:

      Yay! I’m so happy to know that they tasted good–I’m drooling as I imagine them sitting on top of risotto-stuffed portobellos! Also good to know that the mozzarella-style Daiya required extra cooking time; I’m making a mental note of that for future reference. Thanks so much for the follow-up. 🙂

  6. p.s. Kim – I am a contributor to http://www.thehappyglutenfreevegan.com/, do you mind if I share this recipe? I will most definitely show you some link love at the end!

    • Kim McCoy says:

      Of course, please feel welcome to share it! I’m actually contemplating a gluten-free transition (or at minimum a gluten reduction), so I’ve just subscribed to The Happy Gluten Free Vegan. Thanks for the resource! 🙂

  7. Kelly says:

    I just made one and what a fantastic snack!! Thanks for this recipe!

  8. I just made these and they were wonderful! Thank you so much for posting such a great treat!

  9. Rene Tiroff says:

    I used pepper jack shreds and jalapeno peppers…YUMMY

Leave a Reply

